Highly Qualified Teacher Requirements

Highly Qualified Teacher Requirements
The No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB), recognizes that teacher quality is one of the most important factors in improving student achievement and eliminating achievement gaps. NCLB dictates that all students be taught by a "highly qualified teacher" (HQT) who holds at least a bachelor's degree, has obtained full State certification, and has demonstrated knowledge in the core academic subjects he or she teaches.
NCLB requires teachers in K-12 schools to meet the definition of Highly Qualified Teacher (HQT) through the following criteria:
1.  minimum of a bachelor's degree
2.  full state teacher certification
3.  demonstrated subject matter knowledge in each core academic subject assigned to teach, including          
Bilingual, English as a Second Language, and Special Education.
The Office of Professional Development and Evaluation is committed to helping M-DCPS teachers meet the Highly Qualified Teacher Requirement by providing High-quality professional development activities and subject area test preparation sessions instructed by subject matter experts are available in the following certification areas:
• Middle Grades English (grades 5-9)
• Middle Grades General Science (grades 5-9)
• Middle Grades Mathematics (grades 5-9)
• Middle Grades Social Science (grades 5-9)
• English (grades 6-12)
• Mathematics (grades 6-12)
• Social Science (grades 6-12)
• Biology (grades 6-12)
• Chemistry (grades 6-12)
• Earth-Space Science (grades 6-12)
• Reading K-12
• Elementary K-6
• English as a Second Language (ESOL) K-12
• Exceptional Student Education (ESE) K-12

Highly-qualified teacher requirement subject area test preparation instructors